#47 Digital Gesture challenging Communication

Under the direction of Pierluigi BASSO FOSSALI, Marion COLAS-BLAISE and Maria Giulia DONDERO

The present issue of M.E.I. Journal deals with the transformations caused by digital technologies in our ordinary gestures, that is in the communication field, in scientific experiments, aesthetic appreciation or in corporeal habitus.

The adjustment between the user’s “augmented” body and the various screens, interfaces, algorithmic procedures and programming languages is at the center of this issue’s inquiry. This adjustment is explored through the theory of enunciation formulated in linguistics and in semiotics, and takes into account the issues raised from discourse analysis which are at the center of Information and Communication Sciences.

The contributors of this issue take on the task a twofold challenge: analyzing the hyper contemporaneity from a critical viewpoint and examining the sensible, ergonomic and ethic dimensions of instrumental practices.

Éditorial

Pierluigi BASSO FOSSALI - Marion COLAS-BLAISE - Maria Giulia DONDEROSorry, this entry is only available in French.

Entretien

Andrea VALLESorry, this entry is only available in French.

The enunciative gesture and the nanoart : the meaning of the infinitely small

Marion COLAS-BLAISEAbstract : In the case of nanoart, a consubstantial relationship is established between the human and the machine. It is reflected by various acts building up a hybrid syntagma: an embodied act, an act of tactile recognition by the machine, an act of...

When Art touches the Microscopic world : the Haptic Image in Nanoart

Emmanuelle PELARDAbstract : Nanoart is an artistic practice which intends to experiment how representing organic matter and substance, using nanotechnology and developing an aesthetic gesture. In this creative practice, it matters to enunciate the organic matter,...

The role of machine gesturality in analyzing and viewing very large image collections

Maria Giulia DONDEROAbstract : In this article we analyze the relation between the computational work that underlies quantitative analyses of vast collections of images (Big Visual Data), as performed by Lev Manovich and the Cultural Analytics Lab in the field of Media...

Audiovisual media facing digital technology: semiotic gestures around prostheses, devices and archives

Enzo D’ARMENIOAbstract : In this article we will examine the relationship between digital technologies and the semiotic possibilities of the audiovisual forms. Starting from the study of three examples—an episode of the Black Mirror series and the movies Passion and...

Notes on Virtual Reality Cinema : immersion and distance. — Luca Acquarelli & Matteo Treleani

Luca ACQUARELLI - Matteo TRELEANIAbstract : This article aims to study the dispositif of 360 degrees cinema following approaches derived from media theory and semiotics of enunciation. The article questions this new dispositif between traditional cinema and interactive virtual reality and...

The delicacy of invention. Beyond design of control and beau geste of an electronic nature

Pierluigi BASSO FOSSALIAbstract : This paper argues that electronic technologies should escape two myths: the rigid functionalism and the beau geste. The latter seeks the perfect balance between economics, ethics and aesthetics inside the coded acts, but it could justify...

A Research in Motion: Presentation of Enunciative Gestures and Corporality in Academic Blogs

Ingrid MAYEURAbstract : From an explorative study conducted on the publications of Hypotheses, a blogging platform in the Humanities and Social Sciences, we highlight different ways of stating the actions by which the researcher develops knowledge: sensory-motor...

Gesture and speech in the digital era : which enunciation are swipe and vocal command standing for ? About enunciative gestuality in natural user interfaces. — Clotilde Chevet & Ines Garmon

Clotilde CHEVET - Inès GARMONAbstract : This article aims to explore the specifics of tactile and vocal enunciation in a digital environment, using the examples of Tinder’s swipe and Siri’s voice command. While these gestures are subjective for the user of these applications, their...

What "making videos" means. Prolegomena to semio-pragmatic analysis of youtubing

Edwin LAVALLÉEAbstract : As part of a semiotic interdisciplinary articulating « technogenetics » and « semiogenetics » principles in the definition of the gesture « to make videos », we will develop the hypothesis of a structural transformation of the subjectivizing...

Iconicity and modal meaning : emoticons, from body icons to enunciative gestures

Pierre HALTÉAbstract : Emoticons are iconic signs. They represent gestures or facial expressions and they show the speaker’s emotion. This is why, most of the time, they convey a modal meaning : they validate a propositional content in an affective or axiological way....

Mediation, design and digital gestures. Analysis of the interface Astronaut

Cédric HONBA HONBAAbstract : In this article, we consider the problem of automatic digital data processing, when mediation is programmed by a computer device. Our goal is to shed light on the theoretical notions of device and technical object, as well as their influence in...

Solid body and Leading Body: Building Meaning and Identities through Printed Text and Digital Textuality

Ugo RUIZAbstract : This article aims to show how printed and digital textuality imply two coexisting corporalities that shape the identities of individuals. First, the article explores the idea of solid body which indicates the relation that exists between...

Abstract Smartphones, social media and performative gestures

Pauline ESCANDE-GAUQUIÉAbstract :  This paper analyzes the way gestures on a smartphone are guided by the editorial enunciation – which is defined as a number of signs of the users device – of social media. It develops a reflection about the ideology that determines the use of...

#47 LA COMMUNICATION À L’ÉPREUVE DU GESTE NUMÉRIQUE

Sous la direction de Pierluigi BASSO FOSSALI, Marion COLAS-BLAISE et Maria Giulia DONDERO

Ce numéro de M.E.I. vise à rendre compte de la manière dont les technologies numériques ont transformé nos gestualités quotidiennes, qu’il s’agisse de la communication, de l’expérience scientifique, de l’appréciation esthétique ou encore de nos habitus corporels. L’ajustement entre le corps « augmenté » de l’usager, les écrans et les interfaces diverses, ainsi que les langages de programmation et les logiques logicielles sont au centre de cette enquête. Cette dernière s’inscrit dans la perspective de la théorie de l’énonciation, héritée de la tradition linguistique et sémiotique, mais aussi des problématiques reconnues par l’analyse du discours, qui sont au cœur des Sciences de la Communication et de l’Information. Les auteurs impliqués dans ce numéro se sont ainsi consacrés à relever un double défi : analyser l’ultra-contemporain de manière critique et réinterroger à nouveaux frais les dimensions sensible, ergonomique et éthique des pratiques instrumentées.

Éditorial

Pierluigi BASSO FOSSALI - Marion COLAS-BLAISE - Maria Giulia DONDEROLA COMMUNICATION À L’ÉPREUVE DU GESTE NUMÉRIQUE Dans quelle mesure les nouvelles technologies nous conduisent-elles à réinterroger le geste énonciatif, mis à l’honneur par une sémiotique du corps et des pratiques, étudié par des chercheurs en...

Entretien

Andrea VALLETout d’abord, il faut s’entendre sur les termes utilisés. Qu’est-ce qu’un « gestenumérique » ? Si le substantif est strictement lié à la dimension de la corporéité, l’adjectif en revanche concerne un problème de codage de l’information....

Le geste énonciatif et le nanoart : le sens au risque de l’infiniment petit

Marion COLAS-BLAISERÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE : Dans le cas du nanoart, un rapport de consubstantialité s’établit entre l’homme et la machine, qui se traduit par un syntagme gestuel hybride enchaînant l’acte corporalisé, l’acte de reconnaissance tactile par la...

Toucher dans l’intouchable : l’hapticité de l’image dans le nanoart

Emmanuelle PELARDRÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE : Le nanoart constitue une pratique artistique dont l’essence est d’expérimenter la (re) présentation de la matière au prisme de la nanotechnologie, grâce à un geste esthétique numérique qui procède d’une énonciation du...

Le geste machinique dans l’analyse et le visionnage de larges collections d’images

Maria Giulia DONDERORÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE : Dans cet article, nous analysons la relation entre le travail de computation à l’origine des analyses quantitatives de larges collections d’images (Big Visual Data) — telles que celle pratiquée par Lev Manovich et le «...

L’audiovisuel face au numérique : les gestes sémiotiques autour des prothèses, des dispositifs et des archives

Enzo D’ARMENIORÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE : Dans cet article, nous interrogeons le rapport entre les technologies numériques et les possibilités sémiotiques de l’audiovisuel. À partir de l’étude de trois exemples — un épisode de la série Black Mirror et les films...

Notes sur le cinéma en réalité virtuelle. Des polarités dialectiques au geste énonciatif

Luca ACQUARELLI - Matteo TRELEANIRÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE : Cet article entend étudier le dispositif du cinéma à 360 degrés suivant des approches issues de la théorie des médias et de la sémiotique de l’énonciation. L’article interroge ce nouveau dispositif entre cinéma...

La délicatesse de l’invention. Au-delà du design du contrôle et du beau geste électronique

Pierluigi BASSO FOSSALIRÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE : L’article cherche à montrer que les technologies électroniques devraient échapper à deux mythes : le fonctionnalisme rigide et le beau geste, l’équilibre entre économie, éthique et esthétique des actes codés étant...

Une recherche en mouvements. Mise en scène des gestes énonciatifs et de la corporalité dans les carnets de recherche en ligne

Ingrid MAYEURRÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE : À partir d’une étude exploratoire menée sur les publications d’Hypothèses, plateforme de blogging en sciences humaines et sociales, nous mettons en évidence différentes modalités d’énonciation des gestes par lesquels...

Le geste et la parole à l’ère du numérique : de quoi le swipe et la commande vocale sont-ils l’énonciation? Sur les gestualités énonciatives dans les interfaces naturelles

Clotilde CHEVET - Inès GARMONRÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE : Cette étude analyse les particularités de l’énonciation tactile et vocale en contexte numérique, à travers le swipe de Tinder et la commande vocale de Siri. Alors que ces gestes constituent des actes de subjectivité pour...

Ce que « faire des vidéos » veut dire. Prolégomènes à l’analyse sémio- pragmatique du youtubing

Edwin LAVALLÉERÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE : Dans le cadre d’une interdiscipline sémiotique articulant des principes technogénétiques et sémio-génétiques dans la conceptualisation du geste « faire des vidéos », nous développerons l’hypothèse d’une...

Iconicité et signification modale : l’émoticône, de l’icône du corps au geste énonciatif

Pierre HALTÉRÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE : Les émoticônes sont des signes iconiques représentant des mimiques faciales ou des gestes afin d’indiquer l’émotion du locuteur. Elles ont à ce titre, le plus souvent, une signification modale : elles valident une...

Médiation, design et gestualité numériques. Analyse de l’interface Astronaut

Cédric HONBA HONBARÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE : Dans cet article, nous abordons la problématique de la médiation automatique des données numériques, c’est-à-dire lorsqu’elle est programmée par un appareil informatique. Notre objectif est d’apporter un éclaircissement...

Corps certain et corps conducteur : construction du sens et des identités par le texte imprimé et la textualité numérique

Ugo RUIZRÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE :  Cet article montre comment la textualité imprimée et numérique forme deux corporalités qui façonnent l’identité des individus. Ces deux systèmes de communication, et les deux corporalités qu’ils impliquent, cohabitent...

Smartphone, réseaux sociaux et gestes performatifs

Pauline ESCANDE-GAUQUIÉRÉSUMÉ DE L’ARTICLE : Cet article analyse en quoi le geste sur le smartphone est orienté par l’énonciation éditoriale des réseaux sociaux qui renvoie à l’ensemble des signes qui constituent le dispositif utilisateur. Il se saisit de...